Recommended Sponsor - Buy Original Artwork Directly from the Artist

Source: Association of Salaried Medical Specialists

Congratulations to the new ASMS National Executive.

After several weeks of voting, members elected their representatives to serve on the National Executive for the next three years.

The Executive is made up of a President, a Vice President, and two members from each region, along with the immediate past President.

The new National Executive is:  

Dr Julian Vyas (respiratory paediatrician, Auckland) – President

Dr Andrew Ewens (emergency medicine, Waitematā) – Vice President

Professor Murray Barclay (gastroenterologist, Canterbury) – immediate past President

Region 1 – Northland, Waitematā, Auckland, Counties-Manukau

Dr Julian Fuller (anaesthetist, Waitematā), Dr Sylvia Boys (emergency medicine, Counties-Manukau)

Region 2 – Waikato, Bay of Plenty, Lakes, Taranaki

Dr Annette van Zeist-Jongman (psychiatrist, Waikato), Dr Andrew Robinson (anaesthetist, Lakes)

Region 3: Tairawhiti, Hawke’s Bay, Whanganui, MidCentral, Wairarapa, Hutt Valley, Capital & Coast

Dr Nathalie de Vries (paediatrician, MidCentral), Dr Kai Haidekker (radiologist, Hawke’s Bay)

Region 4: Nelson-Marlborough, West Coast, Canterbury, South Canterbury, Southern

Dr Katie Ben (anaesthetist, Nelson-Marlborough), Dr Seton Henderson (intensivist, Canterbury)

We want to acknowledge the contribution of outgoing National Executive member Dr Paul Wilson, and his years of service in the role of National Secretary.

The new National Executive will take office in April and a new National Secretary will be appointed.