Recommended Sponsor - Buy Original Artwork Directly from the Artist

Source: New Zealand Government

The Government continues progress on the survivor-led independent redress system for historic abuse in care, with the announcement of the design and advisory group members today.

“The main recommendation of the Royal Commission of Inquiry’s Abuse in Care interim redress report was for a survivor-led independent redress system, and the members of these groups will work closely with survivors to carry out this work,” Minister for the Public Service Andrew Little said.

“Following the appointment of Co-chairs Dr Annabel Ahuriri-Driscoll and Ruth Jones QSM earlier this month, I have appointed 10 members to the design group and 16 members to the advisory group to develop a new independent, trauma-informed redress system to support genuine healing for people who have been abused or neglected in care.

“The members and the co-chairs bring their own experiences and key perspectives, but also provide representation for Māori, Pacific, Deaf and disabled people, rangatahi, LGBTQI+ communities, and strong representation from both state and non-state abuse survivors.

“I am confident the new members and their co-chairs will ensure the new system reflects the voices of survivors who have shared their experiences with the Royal Commission,” Andrew Little said.

“Progress on improving the government’s support for survivors of abuse in care continues, including prioritising ill and elderly claimants to receive rapid payments, a new survivor experience service, and easier provision of survivor records of their time in care,” Andrew Little said.

The Royal Commission is expected to deliver its final report March 2024.


Notes to Editor:

The following members have been appointed to the redress Design and Advisory Groups to 31 October 2023. The Design Group will develop proposals for the redress design. It will test these with advisory group members.

Design Group Co-Chairs

  • Dr Annabel Ahuriri-Driscoll
  • Ruth Jones QSM

Design Group members

  • Dr Filipo Katavake-McGrath
  • Māhera Maihi
  • Tyrone Marks
  • Te Pare Meihana
  • Paora Moyle
  • Bernie O’Donnell
  • Dr Michael Roguski
  • Tupua Urlich
  • Keith Wiffin
  • Dr Steve Winter

Advisory Group members

  • Kararaina Beckett
  • David Crichton
  • Dr Alison Green
  • Joanna Ilolahia
  • Toni Jarvis
  • Bianca Johanson
  • Denise Messiter
  • Heidi Nayak
  • Sevia Nua
  • Fleur Ramsay
  • Paora Sweeney
  • Frances Tagaloa
  • Jacinda Thompson
  • Jenni Tupu
  • Emma West
  • Matthew Whiting

Rapid payments for claimants

  • Budget 2023 funding will allow MSD to continue resolving historic claims while a new independent redress system is being established in response to recommendations on redress from the Royal Commission on Abuse in Care.
  • The Government is investing $58.4 million in 2023/24 to resolve a further 1,000 claims of historic abuse of people while in the care of Child, Youth and Family (or its predecessors).

Survivor experience service

  • From July 2023 a Survivor Experiences Service will provide a safe, supportive, confidential place for survivors to share their experiences of abuse in care, following the closure of new survivor registrations and private sessions services delivered by the Abuse in Care Royal Commission of Inquiry. The service will run until a new, permanent redress system is in place. The service will be overseen by a board with strong survivor representation.

Improving access to records

  • Shared redaction guidance has been developed for agencies and non-state organisations to improve consistency when making redactions to records to be provided to individuals.