Recommended Sponsor - Buy Original Artwork Directly from the Artist

Source: Kiwibank Local Hero Te Pou Toko o te Tau

Today, the nation celebrates as the names of 100 outstanding Kiwi’s are unveiled as the 2024 Kiwibank Local Hero Te Pou Toko o te Tau Medallists.

From Kaitaia to Bluff, these individuals have been recognised for their exceptional contributions to Aotearoa’s communities.

Now more than ever, it’s time to celebrate the people and moments that unite us.

After a few years of uncertainty, 2023 has marked a unique year for Aotearoa. Through change and re-navigation, as a nation, we’ve had a rare opportunity to look inwards and move in a new direction. Focusing our attention to the challenges and opportunities that exist right here on our shores.

Earlier this year, the New Zealander of the Year Awards Office called on Aotearoa to celebrate our people by nominating their local heroes.

From an overwhelming number of nominations, the panel of independent judges from across the motu undertook the mammoth task of selecting these 100 Kiwibank Local Hero Medallists.These recipients are our frontline workers and our unsung champions working tirelessly for their local hapori – communities.

Medals have been delivered to their door steps, the recipients each of whom have been nominated by someone in their community. This esteemed group of individuals each embody the spirit of Aotearoa, reflecting the diversity and mana of our nation.

Margaret Lewis from Auckland Tāmaki Makaurau expressed her gratitude, stating, “I’m truly humbled that you chose me as a Local Hero. It really belongs to the team I work with. Can’t wait to share the news with them!”

Steve Jurkovich, Kiwibank Chief Executive, emphasises the significance of celebrating these contributions, stating, “If there has ever been a time to celebrate those who’ve made outstanding

contributions to the well-being of our country, it’s now. It is a real privilege to honour the creativity, selflessness, and visionary people that help make us proud to call Aotearoa home.”

The Medallists are now in the running for the 2024 Kiwibank New Zealand Local Hero of the Year Award Te Pou Toko o te Tau.

For a complete list of the 100 Kiwibank Local Hero Medallists, visit (
Let us continue to celebrate and uplift the stories of these individuals who contribute to making New

Zealand a better place for all.

Next Steps in the Kiwibank New Zealand Local Hero Journey:

●  December 13, 2023 — 10 Semi-Finalists Announcement

●  February 21, 2024 — 3 Finalists Announcement

●  March 27, 2024 — Kiwibank New Zealand Local Hero Winner Announcement


● Kiwibank New Zealander of the Year Award Te Pou Whakarae o Aotearoa honours the achievements and contributions of an inspirational Kiwi who has made a big, positive contribution to our country this year. Their pursuit of excellence can be in any area; science, business, the arts, cultural or community involvement, te Ao Māori, sport, education, and health. Their achievements have positive effects on how we feel about our nation and ourselves.

Previous winners of the New Zealander of the Year Award are: Professor Rangi Matamua (2023) Sir Tā Tipene O’Regan (2022) Dr Siouxsie Wiles (2021), Jennifer Te Atamira Ward-Lealand (2020), Mike King (2019), Kristine Bartlett (2018), Taika Waititi (2017), Richie McCaw (2016), Sir Stephen Tindall (2015), Dr Lance O’Sullivan (2014), Dame Anne Salmond (2013), Sir Richard Taylor (2012), Sir Paul Callaghan (2011) and Sir Ray Avery (2010).

●  University of Canterbury Young New Zealander of the Year Award Te Mātātahi o te Tau recognises a young person brimming with the potential to bring about change and produce a bright future for Aotearoa, striving across the last year to improve themselves and their whole community.

●  Ryman Healthcare Senior New Zealander of the Year Award Te Mātāpuputu o te Tau recognises those who have made a positive contribution to our great nation later in their life. This award gives New Zealanders of all ages the opportunity to express their appreciation and admiration for the achievements of our Senior New Zealander over the past year.

●  Spark NZ Innovator of the Year Award Te Pou Whakairo o te Tau recognises a person or group who, in the spirit of Kiwi inventiveness and resourcefulness, have created a better New Zealand.

●  Ministry for the Environment New Zealand Environmental Hero of the Year Award Te Toa Taiao o te Tau recognises a person or group who have made a remarkable contribution to restoring our environment and/or protecting our unique species.

●  Mitre 10 Community of the Year Award Ngā Pou Whirinaki o te Tau recognises a rōpū – group of people that together have made an outstanding difference to their community this year. They foster a strong sense of Kotahitanga – community spirit and their achievements enhance the social, economic, cultural or environmental prosperity of their rohe – region making it stronger and more vibrant.

●  Kiwibank New Zealand Local Hero of the Year Award Te Pou Toko o te Tau recognises everyday people doing extraordinary things in their local hapori – communities over the past year. This award acknowledges the enormous contribution, sacrifice and commitment of Kiwi who have selflessly worked to make their local hapori a better place.