Recommended Sponsor - Buy Original Artwork Directly from the Artist

Source: University of Waikato

University of Waikato scientists and researchers shone brightly in a stellar showcase of science talent at last night’s Kudos Awards.

The awards, established in 2007 by the Kudos Science Trust, recognise the achievements of our region’s top scientists and aim to excite young people about science and its career opportunities and raise the profile of science within our community.

University of Waikato scientists and researchers were honoured to be acknowledged among their peers, winning five main awards and a lifetime achievement award for Professor Alan Hogg.

University of Waikato Deputy Vice-Chancellor, Research, Bryony James says the recognition for our top scientists is humbling.

“We are so fortunate to be located in this region where the pursuit of knowledge is celebrated with the passion that the Kudos Trust brings to all it does,” says Professor James.

“Watching our researchers get recognised with these nominations and awards is hugely gratifying.” Professor James says the event, which had been postponed a number of times due to Covid, was well worth waiting for.

“We are very proud of all our finalists and winners, and wish to thank the Trust for all the work it does to promote science and get our young scientists excited about the future.”

The full list of winners:

Hamilton City Council Emerging Scientist Award

Winner:  Dr Megan Grainger

Also finalists: Dr Terry Issons, Dr Anica Klockars

Datamars Engineering Science Award

Winner:  Dr Shen Hin Lim

Also finalist:  Dr Leandro Bolzoni

Waikato Regional Council Environmental Science Award

Winner:  Dr Charles Lee

Also finalist:  Prof. Kura Paul-Burke

Te Whatu Ora Waikato Medical Science Award

Winner:  Assoc. Prof. Bridgette Masters- Awatere

University of Waikato Vision Mātauranga Science Award

Winner:  Prof. Kura Paul-Burke

Also finalist:  Assoc. Prof. Bridgette Masters-Awatere

Congratulations also go to:
  • Mrs Chris Duggan ( House of Science) for receiving the Wintec Secondary Science Teacher/Educator Award
  • Scion/Agrisea Nanocellulose from Seaweed Team for receiving the Hill Laboratories Primary Industries Award