Recommended Sponsor - Buy Original Artwork Directly from the Artist

Source: Auckland Council

Finalists in the annual Ngā Tohu Tiaki Taiao a te Koromatua / Mayoral Conservation Awards have been announced.

The annual awards, now in their fourth year, recognise and celebrate the power of community led conservation and the outstanding work carried out by these individuals and groups, despite the challenges they face.

38 compelling nominations were received from around the region for community groups and individuals who demonstrate dedication in their resolve to protect and restore Auckland’s unique natural environment.

“Through the judging process, I’ve been incredibly inspired to see the extent of conservation mahi by dedicated community members across Tāmaki Makaurau,” says Councillor Richard Hills, Environment and Climate Change Committee chair and a judge of the awards.

“I’ve been impressed with the standard of entries and delighted by the commitment of the conservation community who are passionate about their role at caretakers of the region’s environment.

“We value their actions that go to the heart of all that we stand for in conservation; working to bring people together to build future for the environment.

“Congratulations to our eleven finalists in the three categories,” he adds.

These annual awards are pivotal in recognising and celebrating the great work happening in the community and recognise environmental champions in three categories:


This category recognises working with others in the community, and/or across a wider landscape or network, to achieve significant conservation outcomes.

  • Pest Free Kaipatiki Restoration Society – Halo programme
  • Pest Free Hibiscus Coast (Royal Forest and Bird led project)
  • Matuku Link
  • The CREST
  • Nga Kaitiaki Hapori o Pourewa – The Community Guardians of Pourewa


This category recognises projects that have used creativity and initiative, and/or developed or refined techniques, methods or systems, to achieve positive results in their conservation work.

  • Te Ara Hikoi: Tawhiti SmartCages
  • Waiheke Marine Project: Koura – Crayfish Survey
  • Te Honanga a Iwi

Schools / Youth

This category recognises schools (including kura kaupapa and early childhood facilities) who use an authentic learning approach to enable and empower students to take conservation action in their community.

  • Jannah Cameron youth lead for Geek Camp – Accelerating Aotearoa
  • Trees for Survival – NGA TAONGA TUKU ORANGA. Inspiring children. Protecting Aotearoa
  • Mahurangi College Living Classroom – Wetland Restoration Project

All category winners are in the running for the Penny Hulse Supreme Environmental Award.

The judges of this year’s Mayoral Conservation Awards: Councillor Richard Hills, Chair, Environment and Climate Change Committee, Andy Baker, Chair, Franklin Local Board and Cameron Johnson, Partnerships Development Advisor, Department of Conservation (Tamaki Makaurau)

After two years of online ceremonies, the winners will be announced and celebrated at a “face to face” awards ceremony to be held on Tuesday 13 September at the Maritime Museum.