Recommended Sponsor - Buy Original Artwork Directly from the Artist

Source: New Zealand Government

Recently retired chief executive of the Farmers’ Mutual Group (FMG), Chris Black, and former Christchurch MP, Ruth Dyson have been appointed Chair and Deputy Chair of the Earthquake Commission Board, Minister Responsible for the Earthquake Commission David Clark announced today.

“Chris Black brings 25 years board and executive experience, with a strong track record in insurance, banking and investment management,” David Clark said.

“Outside his work at FMG, Chris has also previously held roles as the President of the Insurance Council of New Zealand and was on the Board of the Insurance and Savings Ombudsman Scheme.

“I’m pleased to be able to appoint someone with Chris’ pedigree to the role of chair at this pivotal time for EQC.

“Considerable progress has been made with 49 of the 70 recommendations outlined in Dame Silvia Cartwright’s Public Inquiry now completed. As part of this, a strong relationship with private insurers to streamline claims management has been built.

“In the future, EQC will be implementing the Natural Hazard Insurance Bill – which builds on the lessons we’ve learnt over the last decade and modernises the natural disaster fund for future generations.

“I am also appointing Ruth Dyson as Deputy Chair. Ruth spent nearly 30 years in and around Parliament, as a local MP for Christchurch, Cabinet Minister, Assistant Speaker and Chief Whip. She has also been on the EQC Board since May 2021.

“I’d like to take a moment to thank outgoing chair, Mary Jane Daly (MJ), for her loyalty to EQC over the years. She’s been a member of the board since 2014 and has held the position of chair since 2020. During this time MJ has contributed significantly to the progress made in recent years, including a focus on resolving outstanding claims from the Canterbury earthquake sequence.

“Chris Black will take up the position of chair from 1 July when the current chair retires from the Board,” David Clark said.