Recommended Sponsor - Buy Original Artwork Directly from the Artist

Source: Earthquake Commission – EQC


We’d like to congratulate our Chief Executive Sid Miller, who has been jointly awarded Insurance Leader of the Year in the New Zealand Insurance Industry Awards.


The award, hosted by the Australian and NZ Institute of Insurance and Finance, recognises the contribution the award recipients made to New Zealand communities by setting up a world-leading natural disaster insurance response model. Under the model, insurers now manage EQCover claims on behalf of EQC, providing customers with one point of contact for all of their residential natural disaster claims.

EQC Board chairperson Mary-Jane Daly said the prestigious award was a worthy recognition of the innovation and unrelenting customer-focus that Sid has brought to EQC.  

This is the first time in the history of the ANZIIF awards that a public sector CE has been recognised in this way. It is a credit to Sid’s vision and leadership as EQC has formed this unique public-private partnership model with the insurance industry. I’m very proud of the model and the fact it puts our customers very firmly at the heart of what we do.”

Sid shares the award with Jimmy Higgins and Campbell Mitchell from Vero and Blair Williams from IAG, whose teams worked closely with EQC’s throughout the development and implementation of the partnership model.

Ms Daly continued: “Any award for a leader is also, of course, a tribute to the fine team working with them, and the EQC Board of Commissioners is grateful to the people working across EQC with a shared commitment to reduce the impact of natural disasters on people and property.”

After 5 years in the role Sid will leave the organisation in March 2022. “It is wonderful timing for Sid to receive this award in the last few months of his time with us. He has left a fine legacy, and will be missed,” Ms Daly said.