Post sponsored by

Source: MIL-OSI Submissions
Source: New Zealand Society of Authors Te Puni Kaituhi o Aotearoa PEN NZ Inc.

Applications open for NZSA Peter & Dianne Beatson Fellowship 2021 – Calling for applications from writers of fiction, non-fiction, poetry and drama with a literary track record, who are currently working on a new project.
This annual Fellowship is awarded each year to a mid-career or senior writer to work on a project that shows a high level of literary merit and national significance and is donated by Peter Beatson. We thank Peter for his continuing and generous support of New Zealand writers.

In 2020 the fellowship was awarded to Auckland writer Siobhan Harvey, who used the fellowship to allow time to work on her poetry collection. Siobhan said of her win: ‘I’m humbled and honoured to be awarded the 2020 NZSA Peter & Dianne Beatson Fellowship. As a mid-career author, I’ve often found it difficult to apply for awards which specifically include writers such as me.’

Siobhan’s completed poetry collection, Ghosts, has now been published by Otago University Press. In addition, her essay, ‘Living in the Haunted House of the Past’ engaged with the themes of the poetry collection and was awarded 3rd place in the Landfall Essay Competition.

Previous recipients have also included: Emma Neale, Michael Harlow, Tina Makereti, Jillian Sullivan, Sue Wootton, and Frankie McMillan.

Deadline for applications: midnight Friday 20 August 2021

To apply for the fellowship you need to be a member of the NZ Society of Authors (PEN NZ Inc). Membership is open to all developing and established writers. NZSA provides: literary sector news and opportunities, a mentorship programme, manuscript assessment, manuscript services, contract advice, advocacy and representation for writers, information on the publishing industry, grants and other opportunities, along with affiliation to international PEN.

The New Zealand Society of Authors Te Puni Kaituhi o Aotearoa PEN NZ Inc is the principal organisation representing writers in Aotearoa. Founded in 1934, it advocates for the right to fair reward and creative rights, administers prizes and awards, works closely with the literary sector liaison and runs professional development programmes for writers.