Recommended Sponsor - Buy Original Artwork Directly from the Artist

Source: Environment Canterbury Regional Council

Now is the time to join your local water zone committee and make a contribution towards the future of Canterbury’s precious water resource.

Nine of Canterbury’s 10 water zone committees are looking for new community members, with applications opening 12 April and closing on 10 May.

What does a water zone committee do?

Water zone committees collaborate on land and water management solutions to deliver on the Canterbury Water Management Strategy vision, principles and targets in their geographical zone.

Committees are made up of people with a wide range of interests in water who have a strong connection to the zone.

They facilitate community engagement, provide advice to councils, and work with stakeholders to support and expand local water and biodiversity focused projects to make on-the-ground impacts in the zone.

If this sounds like something you could contribute to, we want you to apply. If you are shortlisted, you will take part in a selection workshop, give a presentation, and participate in an assessment workshop involving small group exercises.

Annabelle Hasselman

Hear from current committee members

Community members from across Canterbury are involved with freshwater and biodiversity outcomes affecting positive change in waterways they deeply care about.

Lower Waitaki Water Zone Committee Chair Bruce Murphy got involved with his local committee a few years ago and was recently elected its Chair.

“I joined the Committee to continue improving the health of Waikakahi Stream, which 25 years ago was in a bad state. Thanks to buy-in from the community, it is now a healthy fishery and I want to keep it that way,” he said.

Christchurch West Melton Water Zone Committee member Annabelle Hasselman has been involved in other local community groups for years, and brings that experience to the table at the Committee.

“It is a unique opportunity to bring my experience and knowledge gained from working in a community catchment group to the collaborative forum,” she said.

Community members are being sought in:

  • Ashburton
  • Banks Peninsula
  • Christchurch West Melton
  • Kaikōura
  • Lower Waitaki
  • Orari Temuka Opihi Pareora (OTOP)
  • Selwyn Waihora
  • Upper Waitaki
  • Waimakariri

Hurunui Waiau and Regional committees are not refreshing at this stage.

Head to for more information and to apply.