Recommended Sponsor - Buy Original Artwork Directly from the Artist

Source: Post Primary Teachers Association (PPTA)

Tangaroa College branch chair Imeleta Faumuina has received the Guy Allan award for branch activism

For nearly 20 years Imeleta Faumuina has been either branch chair or secretary for Auckland’s Tangaroa College, coordinating, supporting and organising branch activities.

She has provided individual and collective support, including coming up with innovative ways to encourage involvement with PPTA, such as organising breakfast meetings where members are provided with a meal.

Going out of her way to serve, help and support

Imeleta goes above and beyond what most would do in her position, which is what encouraged branch member Faleata Valesi to nominate her for the award.

“She goes out of her way to serve, help and support teachers. Imeleta is always thinking of ways to get members involved and attend meetings.

“Imeleta is continuously encouraging members to become more active in what is happening in our school as well as across the country. She is always pushing for members to actively respond, whether by attending meetings or writing letters,” he said.

Helping individuals

Imeleta has also been the support person for many teachers when they have needed to take action, Faleata said.

“Imeleta has supported many teachers over the years when needed by contacting the field officer or finding out what needs to be done in that particular situation.”

“Imeleta has been tireless in her work in our school to spread the good news of PPTA and the collective benefits for us all,” he said.

Service to the branch and members who teach in it

Imeleta received the award in a ceremony on March 4, attended by her branch in the Tangaroa College staffroom.

“The Guy Allan award is an award with a distinct purpose, service to the branch and the members who teach in it. Imeleta is the perfect embodiment of that,” PPTA general Secretary Michael Stevenson, who attended the ceremony with president Jack Boyle said.

The award was presented by Tamaki Makaurau Auckland deputy regional chair Paul Stevens. Counties- Manukau regional chair Jan Snowden also presented her with a certificate and a book voucher.

Last modified on Wednesday, 10 June 2020 16:20