Post sponsored by

Source: New Zealand Parliament – Hansard

SPEAKER: Thank you, members.

I further regret to inform the House of the death on 5 August 2021of John Murray Rose QSM, who represented the Otago Central electorate between 1969 and 1972.

I also regret to inform the House of the death on 23 September 2021 of Taito Phillip Field, who represented the Ōtara electorate between 1993 and 1996, and the electorate of Māngere between 1996 and 2008. He was New Zealand’s first Member of Parliament who was of Pacific Island descent. Taito Phillip Field was the Minister of State, Associate Minister of Justice, Associate Minister of Pacific Island Affairs, and Associate Minister of Social Development and Employment from 2003 to 2005. He was awarded the New Zealand 1990 Commemoration Medal for services to the community.

I also regret to inform the House of the death on 30 September 2021 of Jenny Kirk MNZM, who represented the Birkenhead electorate between 1987 and 1990. She was awarded the New Zealand Suffrage Centennial Medal in 1993.

I desire, on behalf of this House, to express our sense of the loss we have sustained and our sympathy with the relatives of the late former members. I now ask members to stand with me and observe a period of silence as a mark of respect to their memories.

Honourable members stood as a mark of respect.