Post sponsored by

Source: Tertiary Education Commission

Last updated 18 December 2020
Last updated 18 December 2020

“TTAF was introduced in June 2020 as part of our response to COVID-19 to strengthen the skills pipeline New Zealand needs to support economic recovery. It makes all apprenticeships and a range of targeted training programmes at sub-degree level free for learners,” says Gillian Dudgeon, Tertiary Education Commission Deputy Chief Executive, Delivery.
“TTAF is now being expanded to include conservation, information technology and additional community support skills for the 2021 academic year, to encourage more people to get qualifications in these areas. Community support includes enrolled nursing, cleaning, and support for people with disabilities, including training people to teach New Zealand Sign Language and teacher aide training. 
“The targeted areas are industries where demand from employers will continue to be strong, or is expected to grow, during New Zealand’s recovery period from the impacts of COVID-19.”
The updated full list of targeted areas for TTAF from 1 January 2021 are:
Information technology, including cybersecurity, technical support and web development [Added from 2021]
Conservation, including freshwater management, biodiversity and biosecurity training needs that support the Jobs for Nature initiative [Added from 2021]
Community support, including youth work, mental health and addiction support, care for elderly, support for people with disabilities (including teacher aide and training people to teach New Zealand Sign Language), interpreting, and community health (including enrolled nursing and cleaning) [expanded scope from 2021]
Primary industries, including agriculture, horticulture and viticulture, fisheries (including aquaculture) and forestry
Construction, including building, plumbing, and civil engineering
Manufacturing and mechanical engineering and technology
Electrical engineering
Road transport (vehicle operations)
Examples of current qualifications covered by TTAF include:
New Zealand Certificate in Horticulture (General) (Level 3)
New Zealand Certificate in Agriculture (dairy farming) (Level 4)
New Zealand Apprenticeship in Plumbing and Gasfitting
New Zealand Apprenticeship in Carpentry
New Zealand Certificate in Health and Wellbeing (Social and Community Services) (Level 4)
New Zealand Apprenticeship in Mental Health and Addiction Support
New Zealand Certificate in Electrical Engineering Theory (Level 3)
New Zealand Diploma in Engineering (Civil, Electrical, Mechanical, or Fire) (Level 6)
New Zealand Certificate in Commercial Road Transport (Heavy Vehicle Operator) (Level 3)
Examples of additional areas of study and training now included would be:
New Zealand Diploma in Information Technology Technical Support (Level 5)
New Zealand Diploma in Cybersecurity (Level 6)
New Zealand Certificate in Conservation (Operations) (Level 4)
New Zealand Diploma in Enrolled Nursing (Level 5)
New Zealand Certificate in Education Support (Level 4)
Certificate in Deaf Studies (Teaching New Zealand Sign Language)