Post sponsored by NewzEngine.com

Source: New Zealand Transport Agency

People who use SH88 to get to and from Port Chalmers, Dunedin, will face delays over five weekends, including overnight, from this weekend (10, 11, 12 July) to the end of August.

Some of the weekends will include the full Monday and the early Tuesday morning as well.

Rail re-alignment work is needed to accommodate the new shared use path being built by Waka Kotahi NZ Transport Agency between St Leonards and Port Chalmers.

Shared use path

“To do this work safely, we need to reduce the highway to a single lane for up to a kilometre along this area of St Leonards Drive. People will need to add an extra five minutes for their journey, day and night, while it is underway,” says Jason Forbes, Senior Project Manager for Waka Kotahi.

“In order to minimise disruption to trains on the main trunk line, we need to work 24 hours a day over these five weekends.”

The area where the rail is being realigned runs between St Leonards Boat Club and  Curles Point. Unless there is extremely bad weather, this work will go ahead. Emergency vehicles will be accommodated throughout.

Work starts at 10 am this Saturday 10 July and goes through to 10 am Monday 12 July

The other four weekends’ times are:
  • 7am Saturday, 24 July to 5am Tuesday 27 July
  • 7am Saturday, 7 August to 10am Monday 9 August
  • 7am Saturday, 21 August to 5am Tuesday 24 August
  • 7am Saturday, 28 August to 5am Tuesday 31 August.

Waka Kotahi thanks everyone for their patience while this work is done.

Map of the area where rail re-alignment is needed to accommodate the new shared use cycling and walking path.

Plan ahead for a safe, enjoyable journey. Keep up to date with:

MIL OSI