Post sponsored by

Source: Auckland Council

Auckland Council will be conducting a by-election for the Māngere-Ōtāhuhu Local Board, with nominations opening on 24 November 2020.

The by-election follows the resignation of board member Anae Dr Neru Leavasa.

Anae Dr Neru Leavasa resigned from the Māngere-Ōtāhuhu Local Board after winning the newly created electorate seat of Takanini in this year’s General Election. Born and raised in Māngere and of Samoan descent, he is one of four new Pasifika Labour MP’s in New Zealand’s Labour Party.

The Electoral Officer must receive nominations by 12 noon Tuesday 22 December 2020. Voting documents will be posted to eligible voters from Tuesday 26 January 2021 and voting will close at 12 noon on Monday 22 February 2021.

For further information on criteria to stand and how to lodge your nomination, visit the Auckland Council website or for further information visit the Electoral Office website or phone on 09 973 5212 or 0800 922 822.

Key dates

  • Nominations open: Tuesday 24 November 2020
  • Nominations close: 12 noon Tuesday 22 December 2020
  • Delivery of voting packs: from Tuesday 26 January 2021
  • Close of voting: 12 noon Monday 22 February 2021

When we hold by-elections

A by-election is held to fill an elected position that has become vacant.

For example, if a governing body or a local board member resigns, before their term ends, and more than 12 months before the next three-yearly local election, a by-election will be held within the relevant ward or local board area to replace that member.