Post sponsored by

Source: New Zealand Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade – Safe Travel

Border Closures for Travellers from China: Coronavirus

In light of the developing novel coronavirus (2019-nCoV) outbreak, a number of countries have announced they are closing their borders to foreign nationals travelling from, or transiting through, China.

The New Zealand of Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade does not provide immigration advice for entry to other countries. Border officials of the country you are travelling to will make final decisions about factors which may impact your eligibility for entry. We recommend travellers consult the countries official website, or their diplomatic representation where you are, in advance of travel about the countries you intend to visit.

The list below is designed to help inform New Zealand travellers about potential limits to their travel. We have compiled the list from open source media, and it is likely to change. It is not definitive advice on the requirements to enter or exit countries, and we advise you monitor relevant media reporting for up to date information.

As at 2 February (10am NZ time), countries that have announced their border restrictions for foreign nationals include:

  • Australia
  • Afghanistan
  • Japan
  • Mongolia
  • Nepal
  • North Korea (DPRK)
  • Pakistan
  • Russia
  • Singapore
  • USA

For updated information about New Zealand borders, please see the New Zealand Customs and New Zealand Immigration websites.

For health information, New Zealanders should read the information provided on the New Zealand Ministry of Health website, which includes advice for travellers.

New Zealanders in China requiring consular assistance within China should contact their nearest New Zealand representation in China. See SafeTravel for full details.

Associated Advisories:

Share this page:

Share this page:

Latest News features