Post sponsored by

Source: University of Waikato

The Dean of the Faculty of Māori and Indigenous Studies, Professor Brendan Hokowhitu (Ngāti Pūkenga), was one of 18 new Ngā Ahurei a Te Apārangi Fellows and Ngā Ahurei Honore a Te Apārangi Honorary Fellows to have been elected to the Academy of the Royal Society Te Apārangi for their distinction in research recently.

He is also one of only two Māori scholars to be named a Fellow this year.

The Royal Society Te Apārangi states that being made a Fellow is an honour that recognises distinction in research, scholarship or the advancement of knowledge at the highest international standards.

“It’s a great honour, particularly being one of only two Māori scholars given the honour this year,” says Professor Hokowhitu.

“I believe it speaks to the growing importance of Indigenous Studies as an international discipline that is finally gaining recognition, and the Faculty of Māori and Indigenous Studies at the University of Waikato is in many ways at the heart of this change, being recognised as one of the leading Indigenous Studies units in the world.

“So we should be very proud of the Faculty for all the national and international recognition that it receives”.

Professor Hokowhitu has been with the University of Waikato for four years and was determined to further Indigenise academia through changing curricula, enhancing research and recently hosting NAISA 2019, the largest ever Indigenous Studies conference in the world.

Noting the contribution he has made, the Royal Society Te Apārangi said Professor Brendan Hokowhitu is a pioneering Māori scholar who has helped define the globally nascent field of Indigenous Studies.

“His intellect, originality in thinking and depth of knowledge are demonstrated in his expansive publications creating the sub-fields of Indigenous Masculinities, and Indigenous Sport and Physical Education, and are significantly contributing to sub-fields of Indigenous Critical Theory, Indigenous Media, and Indigenous Wellbeing.”

Professor Hokowhitu joins Professor Linda Tuhiwai Smith on the Royal Society honours board.  Professor Tuhiwai Smith was awarded a Te Puāwaitangi Award in 2018 in recognition of the eminent and distinctive contribution she has made to Te Ao Māori, and to Māori and Indigenous knowledge.

Their combined expertise in Indigenous scholarship continue to boost the Faculty’s reputation as a leader in Indigenous Studies and Matauranga Māori.

For a full list of Fellows go here.