Post sponsored by

MIL OSI – Source: Show Me Shorts Film Festival – Release/Statement

Headline: Congratulations to the 2016 winners! | Show Me Shorts Film Festival

The winners in nine award categories for the 11th annual Show Me Shorts Film Festival have just been announced at the Opening Night and Awards Ceremony.

The winners of the Lightbox Best Film Award, which is one of two Academy Awards®-qualifying categories, were Georgiana Plaister and Ned Wenlock for their animated short film Spring Jam. The delightful film follows a young stag, lacking impressive antlers who must improvise with sweet music in order to have any chance during the mating season.

Wenlock had a successful night, also taking home the DEGNZ Best Director Award. The jury for the awards was made up of Antonia Prebble, Dylan Reeve and Steven O’Meagher who commented:

“Spring Jam makes you smile from the opening frame to the closing credits. It is a charming example of an original artistic vision that was executed with skill and precision.”

German writer/director/producer Tim Ellrich took home the Best International Film Award for his nostalgic comedy Die Badewanne (The Bathtub). This film has already won awards at festivals around the world, but Ellrich was elated about the win in New Zealand, saying:

“We are very happy that Die Badewanne has won the Best International Film Award and is now eligible for the Oscars. An award like this from the other side of the world means a lot to us.”

The judges said:

“Die Badewanne is an excellent use of the short film form. The story is simple but rich in nuance and complex dynamics within the characters. The one-shot shooting style gives it an almost voyeuristic perspective, perfectly capturing a complex sibling dynamic in an honest and relatable way.”

The Bathtub by Tim Ellrich dives into nostalgia and hilarity as three brothers attempt to re-create a childhood photo for their mother.

The NZFC Special Jury Prize was awarded to writer/director Yamin Tun for Wait. The jury members commented on the stand-out quality of storytelling “that is touching and intimate, while at the same time broadly resonant emotionally.” Wait was also recognized for the “perfectly pitched” performance by lead actress Katlyn Wong who received the StarNow Best Actor Award.

New Zealand musician-turned-director, Joe Lonie’s Shout at the Ground made its world premiere screening on the night, with his editor Bryan Shaw taking home the DEGNZ Best Editor Award. This raucous road-trip ‘vom-com’ was a hit with audience members.

Shout at the Ground directed by Joe Lonie, debuts at the Show Me Shorts Film Festival.

For the third year running, the NZ On Air Best Music Video Award went to directing duo THUNDERLIPS and the team at Candlelit Pictures. Their video for Sheep, Dog & Wolf, Breathe impressed the judges with visually arresting detail that complimented a great song.

Screenwriter Hugh Calveley won the Final Draft Best Screenplay Award for his sci-fi short, Cradle, about a 14-year-old girl returning to Earth on a spaceship. Simon Baumfield took out perhaps the most hotly contested category, Panavision Best Cinematographer, for the dark thriller Feeder. The jury commented on the high standard of cinematography overall across the nominated short films.

Regarding their sponsorship of Show Me Shorts and the awards, Lightbox CEO Kym Niblock said,

“We’re proud to support Show Me Shorts as it showcases the immense talent of New Zealand filmmakers. Congratulations to Georgiana Plaister and Ned Wenlock for taking out the Lightbox Best Film Award. Here’s hoping Spring Jam goes all the way to the Oscars!”

‘Cradle’ directed by Damon Duncan. Nominated for the Lightbox Best Film Award

Show Me Shorts is now playing 42 short films and five music videos in cinemas across Aotearoa, from Dargaville to Stewart Island. Tickets are on sale from the cinema venues.

Award Winners 2016

Category Person or Team Film
Lightbox Best Film Georgiana Plaister & Ned Wenlock Spring Jam
Final Draft Best Screenplay Hugh Calveley Cradle
DEGNZ Best Editor Bryan Shaw Shout at the Ground
StarNow Best Actor Katlyn Wong Wait
Best International Film Tim Ellrich Tim Ellrich, Die Badewanne (The Bathtub)
DEGNZ Best Director Ned Wenlock Spring Jam
Panavision Best Cinematographer Simon Baumfield Feeder
NZFC Special Jury Prize Yamin Tun Wait
Best Music Video THUNDERLIPS & Candlelit Pictures Breathe by Sheep, Dog & Wolf
People’s Choice Award To be announced in Janurary Vote Online @