You are here:  Home  >  24/7 News  >  Current Article

Entries open for Green Ribbon Awards

By   /  May 20, 2017  /  Comments Off on Entries open for Green Ribbon Awards

    Print       Email

MIL OSI – Source: Department of Conservation – Release/Statement

Headline: Entries open for Green Ribbon Awards

Entries are being sought for the annual Green Ribbon Awards which recognise outstanding contributions toward protecting and managing New Zealand’s environment. 

The Department of Conservation (DOC) are calling for individuals, groups and organisations who are getting involved and making a difference to enter this year’s awards.

Groups can enter the awards themselves, or be nominated by others. 

DOC’s East Coast Operations Manager, John Lucas, says there are many people in the district who are working hard on conservation projects for the environment. 

“We all have a part to play in protecting and managing our environment. By sharing your story, you’ll not only boost the profile of your work, but also help us to raise awareness of how individuals, groups and organisations can get involved in conservation and make a difference. 

“So put your hand up or nominate someone who you know is doing great work. Let’s make sure some of our local champions feature in this year’s award and get the recognition they deserve,” says John. 

Last year, the Uawanui Project Governance Group from Tolaga Bay won the Protecting our Biodiversity award. 

John says, “the Uawanui Group has engaged the whole community to improve the environmental health of the Kaituna Estuary, which they’ve done by managing the activities in the catchment that impact on the estuary. It’s a ’mountains-to-sea’ approach.”  

The other Green Ribbon Award categories are: resilience to climate change; business leadership; minimising waste; caring for our water; protecting our coasts and oceans, kaitiaki leadership, philanthropy and partnership; community leadership; leadership in communication and education. 

Information can be found at www.greenribbonawards.org.nz, including how to enter. 

Entries close on 10 May 2017. 

Finalists are invited to attend a formal awards ceremony and dinner at Parliament on 8 June 2017, where the winners will be announced. The awards ceremony is hosted by the Ministers for the Environment and Conservation.

    Print       Email